Academic Calender


An academic year is divided into two semesters namely SPRING and FALL, each of 17 weeks duration. The SPRING semester starts in January and concludes in June. The FALL semester starts in August and concludes in December.

Academic Schedule for year 2020-21

Fall 2020 Spring 2021
Registration Aug 25 - 28 (Tue-Fri) Jan 19 - 22 (Tue-Fri)
First day of classes Aug 31 (Mon) Jan 25 (Mon)
First Session Examinations Oct 5 - 7 (Week 6) Mar 1 - 3 (Week 6)
Second Session Examinations Nov 9 - 11 (Week 11) Apr 5 – 7 (Week 11)
Last Day of classes Dec 18 (Fri) May 13 (Thu)
Final Examinations Dec 22 - 31 (Tue-Thu) May 25 – Jun 4 (Tue-Fri)
Announcement of Results Jan 15, 2021 (Fri) Jun 11 (Fri)

*These Dates are tentative. For confirmation, contact your concerned campus

Summer Semester

Summer semester may be organized in June-July at the discretion of the campus. Only a limited number of ‘taught courses’ may be offered in the summer semester. Preference is given to final year students and then to junior batches, in order of their seniority.

As the summer semester is not a regular semester, therefore, Registration in Project/ Dissertation/ Thesis is not allowed in the summer semester. Withdrawal from course(s) is not allowed in summer semester.

Expected Holidays during the year 2020 - 21

2020 2021
Kashmir Day Feb - 5 (Wed) Feb - 5 (Fri)
Pakistan Day Mar - 23 (Mon) Mar - 23 (Tue)
Labour Day May - 1 (Fri) May - 1 (Sat)
Eid-ul-Fitr * May 25 - 26 (Mon - Tue) May 14 - 16 (Fri - Sun)
Eid-ul-Adha * Jul 31 - Aug 2 (Fri - Sun) Jul 21 - Jul 23 (Wed - Fri)
Independence Day Aug - 14 (Fri) Aug - 14 (Sat)
Ashura * Aug 29 - 30 (Sat - Sun) Aug 19 - 20 (Thu - Fri)
Eid Meelad-un-Nabi * Oct - 30 (Fri) Oct - 18 (Mon)
Quaid’s Birthday Dec - 25 (Fri) Dec - 25 (Sat)

*Subject to lunar calendar

Expected Convocation Dates 2020-21

Convocations are planned to take place at the campuses on the following dates.

Venue 2020 2021
Islamabad Sep 5 (Sat) Feb 27 (Sat)
Chiniot - Faislabad Sep 12 (Sat) -
Karachi Sep 19 (Sat) Feb 13 (Sat)
Peshawar Sep 26 (Sat) -
Lahore Oct 3 (Sat) Feb 20 (Sat)