Academic Calender


An academic year is divided into two semesters namely SPRING and FALL, each of 17 weeks duration. The SPRING semester starts in January and concludes in June. The FALL semester starts in August and concludes in December.

Academic Schedule for year 2020

Spring 2020 Fall 2020
Registration Jan 13 - 17 (Mon-Fri) Aug 17 - 21 (Mon-Fri)
First day of classes Jan 20 (Mon) Aug 24 (Mon)
First Session Examinations Feb 24 - 27 (Week 6) Sep 28 - 30 (Week 6)
Second Session Examinations Mar 30 - Apr 3 (Week 11) Oct 26 - 28 (Week 11)
Last Day of classes Apr 30 (Thu) Dec 4 (Fri)
Final Examinations May 4 - 22 (Mon-Fri) Dec 07 - 24 (Tue-Thu)
Announcement of Results May 29 (Fri) Dec 31 (Thu)

*These Dates are tentative. For confirmation, contact your concerned campus

Summer Semester

Summer semester may be organized in June-July at the discretion of the campus. Only a limited number of ‘taught courses’ may be offered in the summer semester. Preference is given to final year students and then to junior batches, in order of their seniority.

As the summer semester is not a regular semester, therefore, Registration in Project/ Dissertation/ Thesis is not allowed in the summer semester. Withdrawal from course(s) is not allowed in summer semester.

Expected Holidays during the year 2020 - 21

2020 2021
Kashmir Day Feb - 5 (Wed) Feb - 5 (Fri)
Pakistan Day Mar - 23 (Mon) Mar - 23 (Tue)
Labour Day May - 1 (Fri) May - 1 (Sat)
Eid-ul-Fitr * May 25 - 26 (Mon - Tue) May 13 - 15 (Thu - Sat)
Eid-ul-Adha * Jul 31 - Aug 2 (Fri - Sun) Jul 19 - Jul 21 (Mon - Wed)
Independence Day Aug - 14 (Fri) Aug - 14 (Sat)
Ashura * Aug 29 - 30 (Sat - Sun) Aug 17 - 18 (Tue - Wed)
Eid Meelad-un-Nabi * Oct - 30 (Fri) Oct - 18 (Mon)
Quaid’s Birthday Dec - 25 (Fri) Dec - 25 (Sat)

*Subject to lunar calendar